Course guide and key stats for Royal Ascot

The Timeform guide to Royal Ascot, with all the key facts and figures from the meeting.

Timeform’s Ascot Course Guide

The circular course is a one-and-three-quarter mile right-handed canter triangular circuit, with a run-in of two and a half furlongs.

Ascot also has a straight one mile course, which tends to flow better than the circular course. Generally speaking, leading runners fare significantly better than those held over five furlongs, but the reverse is true over seven furlongs/one mile, while on the round course, those who run in the first half the peloton over a mile and a quarter have a better record than those captured further out.

Main active jockeys at Ascot

Sorted by strike rate since early 2017 (minimum 25 rides)

  • Frankie Dettori – 21.81% (41 winners out of 188 rides)
  • Ray Dawson – 20% (6/30)
  • Guillaume Buick – 16.29% (36/221)
  • Rossa Ryan – 15.79% (9/57)
  • Ryan Moore – 15.03% (43/286)

Other points to consider

  • Supporting William Buick mounts during this period would have resulted in an excellent level profit of £54.84. Frankie Dettori also showed a healthy level profit, in his case £25.64.
  • Ryan Moore set the post-war record for the number of winners at a single Royal Ascot meeting when he raced nine in 2015. Moore was the meeting’s main driver eight times between 2010 and 2018 , only missing during that time in 2013 when Johnny Murtagh won the award.
  • No active jockey has ridden more winners at the meeting than Frankie Dettori. His total stands at 76. Ryan Moore is the closest with 66 Royal Ascot winners.

Main active coaches at Ascot

Sorted by strike rate since early 2017 (minimum 25 runners)

  • Owen Burrows – 23.36% (10/43)
  • Michael Dods – 22.22% (06/27)
  • Charlie Appleby – 18.01% (29/161)
  • John and Thady Gosden – 17.92% (55/307) – includes data for John Gosden prior to training partnership
  • David Loughnane – 17.24% (5/29)

Other points to consider

  • Charlie Fellowes’ ten winners out of 63 runners had an honorable strike rate of 15.87% and made an impressive profit of £105.50.
  • Aidan O’Brien has been head coach at Royal Ascot ten times, with his last title won in 2019. John Gosden won the award in 2020, while Gosden, in partnership with his son Thady, also sent the most winners Last year.
  • Sir Michael Stoute holds the record for most Royal Ascot winners with 82. Aidan O’Brien is next on the list with 76.

The best performances at Royal Ascot this century

147 – Anthony (2012 Queen Anne Stakes)

No horse since Timeform’s inception in 1948 has performed better than the one produced by Frankel in the Queen Anne Stakes on the opening day of Royal Ascot in 2012. Frankel delivered an astonishing 11-length thrashing to Excelebration – a top-class racehorse in its own right.

137 – Dubai Millennium (2000 Prince of Wales’s Stakes)

Dubai Millennium was able to show exceptional form on both dirt and grass. Dubai Millennium got their top rating of 140 by beating the clock at the Dubai World Cup, but they weren’t far below that level when they turned what was supposed to be a big clash in the Princes of Wales’s Stakes of 2000 in a procession.

135 – The Esplanade (2007 Prince of Wales Stakes)

Manduro won three times at the top level as a five-year-old, with the most memorable display in the Prince of Wales’s Stakes when he easily brushed aside a top-flight rival in Dylan Thomas. Manduro showed good toe turn to accelerate the lead, and he still hung on under a largely hands-and-heels drive.

134 – Fantastic Light (Prince of Wales Stakes 2001)

Fantastic Light is best remembered for his emotional bouts with Galileo – he finished runner-up in the King George, then reversed form in the Irish Champion Stakes – but prior to those titanic bouts he had put on a dominant display in the Prince of Wales’s Stakes. . He was still going strong at Royal Ascot and, despite running out of room on the rail just a few furlongs from home, he picked up instantly when he bowed for a run, easily passing Kalanisi and logging two and a half lengths.

133 – Canford Cliffs (2011 Queen Anne Stakes)

Canford Cliffs got the better of the legendary Goldikova in the 2011 Queen Anne Stakes. Goldikova, who at this point was a three-time Breeders’ Cup Mile winner, was kicked out a narrow favorite, but Canford Cliffs was still going well behind and produced his signature foot turn to take the lead from a yard distance.

safer play

We are committed to supporting safer gaming. Recommended bets are advised for those over 18 and we strongly encourage readers to bet only what they can afford to lose.

If you are concerned about your gambling, please call the National Gambling Helpline / GamCare on 0808 8020 133.

You can find help and additional information at and

Karen J. Nelson